So…

…May 15 KST, or May 14 EST marked the 3 month anniversary of my arrival into Korea.

3 months.

In around 180 days, I will be back in Canada for a week.

In around 280 days, I will be done my first year in Korea.

Providing I make it that far.

One of the biggest challenges about being here, is the fact that you have to re-establish yourself.

I went out with some people a few weeks back. One of them paid the whole tab as they didn’t have cash. The next day, I paid back my share of the tab.

I was thanked for being considerate enough.

That, to me, was common sense. Something I wouldn’t think twice about. I don’t think I should have to be told I owe a certain amount.

Or, wanting to give my all when it comes to certain things. One had commented on it…and they had made it sound like I was trying too hard. If I took it negatively, as if I were trying to upstage them. With my years of working with younger individuals, training, and schooling, it is just how I am to work in that fashion. I do not play with the lives of individuals who are still so impressionable.

Then there was the event where I picked up a coffee for someone just because.

You are so Canadian.

?

I like thinking of my friends and randomly surprising them with a drink. Why should that be considered something typical?

Even today…I had an issue.

I broke…I cried.

Embarrassing.

Had to hide all traces of it.

Apparently, having people not know who I am, is weird. I guess in that sense I am homesick. I’m not sick of my surroundings, nor the children. I just miss being able to be understood, without having to explain it all.

I guess it doesn’t help that I talked to two of my closest friends the other day. Still waiting on one, but not sure how I am going to fit that in.

Not sure if this makes sense.

I’m just all bottled up, and need to get this out before I attempt some sleep.

On the plus side, I was able to chat with one of the teachers a week ago, and boy was I super thankful. To just rant as if I was back home with my fav ladies. I’m also thankful that there are a few who had been awesome enough to make me laugh.

So, despite the minor hiccup, I am thankful.

Now, I just need to make sure I hold on.

4 thoughts on “So…

  1. What is apparent to us readers is that you are Very Well Loved back home, and you will cherish those around you even more when you return :) I found this quote for you!…

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

    • Thank you so much for this~^^
      Can always count on you to leave something that really makes one think and reflect in a good way :D

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

