Inspiration for a new nail polish color?

*This post is not sponsored in any way by Julep (by products or monetary means). I figured I had time to do a quick post, so decided it would be fun to share. This would have happened eventually.*

Many years ago, I think it was Essie? held a contest where you could make your own nail polish and have it distributed by the brand. There was this gorgeous blue one, if I am remembering correctly, Starry Night or something. Anyway, I have always held that thought in the back of my head since then. What would I create?

I’ve always been fascinated by dark purple. Well, black and dark reds have been thrown in to that mix as well.

So when I got this email by Julep asking if I would consider creating a post to share “inspiration for a new nail polish color”, I already knew what it would be.

Purple.

I used to hate wearing purple clothing items, but when it came to hair and nails, I was oddly attracted. It is one of the reasons why I enjoyed wearing China Glaze VIII for so long as well (which also remains one of my top colours to wear on my toes).

Valentine's #4
(China Glaze VIII)

I would liken my colour a little closer to Padma by Julep though, just really dark.

*It was hard to pick just one picture, so I screen shot what I Googled, and added the link. If you are one of the many pictures in the screenshot, and object to your image being used in this way, let me know and I’ll fix it.*

Dark purple plums also come to mind
Screen shot 2014-06-25 at 9.18.24 PM
(Screenshot of Google Images)

Or dark purple hair dye
Screen shot 2014-06-25 at 9.18.18 PM
(Screenshot of Google Images)

Anyway, the only thing is…for my own colour, I would mix in a bit of fine holo glitter. One of the reasons is because you need to move it this way and that, in order to get the full colour.

Screen shot 2014-06-25 at 9.25.08 PM
(Screenshot of Google Images)

What would your colour be?

Oh, if you are one of my American readers, Julep has a sweepstake going on. You can check it out HERE. Wish I could enter, but it is only open to those in the US. BOOO…but Good Luck :)

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

