Holiday Nails: Silver & Baubles

Nail art does not have to be difficult. Really. I know when you see some of the experts do their thang…or browse a nail bloggers account for inspiration, it can be daunting.

But you can keep it simple. K.I.S.S! Okay :P

So today we have…

Holiday Nails Silver Baubles
I wanted to do something that was relatively quick, easy, and doesn’t require a lot of materials. Since I liked the effect of the half moon deal from yesterday’s nail, I wanted to use that again for today.

Holiday Nails Silver Baubles
I used American Apparel Metallic polish in Silver Jazz, and applied three coats to my index, middle and pinky. I applied two coats on my thumb and ring finger, by outlining a rather deep half moon. While the polish was still tacky, I used an eraser on the other end of a pencil, and picked up the plastic rhinestones and placed them on the nail. I initially wanted to fill in the entire silver part on the thumb and ring finger with the rhinestones, but will probably do that for another day. After I let it dry just for a little bit, I sealed it all off with one coat of Seche Vite on the nails, and added a second coat for the thumb and ring finger, to make sure those rhinestones stay.

I do like the American Apparel nail polish. I bought mine when they had some awesome deals on Groupon, and ended up being about $3 each (if memory serves me right). I probably wouldn’t pay $9 for them, but then again I don’t pay more than $5 for any of my polish, OPI and Essie included. But you could easily use Sally Hansen Xtreme in Celeb City, or any silver for that matter. Or even any colour. Doesn’t have to be silver. I kept it silver as my rhinestones are silver. Creates texture, but keeping it streamlined at the same time.

Holiday Nails Silver Baubles
The effect of that bare space really appeals to me for some reason. I have a few more Holiday Nails to show you, that utilizes that concept.

Previous Posts on Holiday Nails
Holiday Nails 1 Lipstick & The Art of Seduction

You can also check out the series from last year.

*all products in this post wee purchased with my own funds*

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

