On the fence…Alphabet Creams…

*This post contains products I have received for reviewing purposes as part of #beautyunited*

So, most of my friends know how much I love my Marcelle BB cream. It was one of the few that I got to try out in the world of BB that I did like. But then came a slew of CC and DD’s…and well I’m not too sure about those guys. And has anyone asked what happened to AA?!? Maybe “Amplified Appearance” :P

Anyway…
I did manage to get my hands on two CC labeled products, and today I wanted to share the Olay
Olay CC Cream

What does it do? Well, let’s look at the box :D

Olay CC Cream

Olay CC Cream

Olay CC Cream

Olay CC Cream
I think it is because of the SPF, but I really was glad to see the expiry date on the bottom of the box. Takes the guess work out of things.

Olay CC Cream

So back to the review.

Beauty’s Next Big Trend! Olay CC Cream provides instant Coverage plus Correction to fight 7 signs of aging, including uneven tone, age spots, and wrinkles.

This all-in-one triple stream formula combines a daily anti-aging moisturizer, SPF 15 sunscreen and sheer tint for younger-looking skin.

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS PURPOSE AVOBENZONE
2% SUNSCREEN OCTISALATE
3% SUNSCREEN OCTOCRYLENE
3% SUNSCREEN

INACTIVE INGREDIENTS
WATER, GLYCERIN, TITANIUM DIOXIDE,NIACINAMIDE, ACETYL GLUCOSAMINE, ISOPROPYL LAUROYL SARCOSINATE, PANTHENOL, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, DIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONOL, TRIETHANOLAMINE, BENZYL ALCOHOL, CARBOMER, BEHENYL ALCOHOL, C13-14 ISOPARAFFIN, CETEARYL GLUCOSIDE, STEARYL ALCOHOL, LAURETH-7, CETYL ALCOHOL, PEG-100 STEARATE, METHYLPARABEN, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, PROPYLPARABEN, ETHYLPARABEN, PEG-4 LAURATE, PEG-4 DILAURATE, IODOPROPYNYL BUTYLCARBAMATE, PEG-4, AMMONIUM POLYACRYLATE, POLYACRYLAMIDE, IRON OXIDES.

Snagged from the website HERE

Currently only in one colour, Light to Medium, it retails for approximately $33 for 50mL. It is available at many retailers, and online at Well.ca.

I liked that it contained an SPF, though a tad low for my liking. What I did like was that it moisturized like it says. It felt nice on my skin. It also has a decent pump, that lets me squeeze out a little. If you do not have any acne scarring, or minimal discolouration, you could probably get away with just this, and no additional cover up. But seeing as it is to work against age spots, I know it isn’t really made for that, but just thought I would mention that it does have some pigmentation in it.

Olay CC Cream

Olay CC Cream
Olay CC Cream
Olay CC Cream

However I found because it was so moisturizing, it took a bit to have it sink in to the skin. I would lose patience and blot my face. Another thing is that you may experience that it might not play well under some products. For me, it made my mineral foundation much darker. So what I ended up doing for myself, was to mix it with a liquid foundation that I already found a little dark, then applied it to the face.

Olay on the Left || Marcelle BB on the Right
Olay CC Cream
Olay CC Cream
Olay CC Cream

Olay CC Cream
Top Before || Bottom After
You can see that my skin in the After is shinier, and my red skin (skin issues -___-) doesn’t really change.

In any case, I tried it out, but also got Mom to try it out, seeing as she fits the 7 things that this is supposed to attack.

So what was her view?

Olay CC Cream

Because it moisturizes quite well, (1) was met, as hydration made it look like her skin plumped up. We didn’t really see it do much for uneven tone (2), but it’s not like she has severe discolouration like I do. She does however have age spots (3), and we didn’t really notice much of a change in this area either (which Mom was sad about, as she hates those spots…enough that recently she did something about it -___- think lasers…). We think that there was exfoliation, as her skin does feel smoother (4). Mom experiences a bit of dryness on the side of her face, and while using this product it wasn’t as noticeable (5). Skin was hydrated (6). We really couldn’t say anything about luminosity (7), as we both didn’t notice it, but I think that its a harder thing to notice.

Anyway, as a moisturizer, we liked it. It does smell like sunscreen, but nothing gross. Mom is still using it at the moment, mainly because even after a month, she didn’t experience skin issues. She has more sensitive skin than I do, so that is usually a huge concern for us.

The only problem is that it is a tad pricey. She uses the Shiseido Face and Body Sunscreen everyday, so not sure if its really necessary for her to use the Olay. Might as well use the Shiseido because it has a higher SPF, and a day moisturizer, seeing as SPF is a bigger concern for her. What she does like is that because it hydrates the skin, the powder foundation compact that she uses, has something to grab on to (she uses the Shiseido foundation compact). So after applying her foundation, her skin looks pretty good. Always a perk, right?

In any case, one of the major things to remember is that a CC doesn’t act in the same was as a BB. You won’t get the same type of coverage you get in the BB, in a CC. So try to think of it as a lightly tinted moisturizer that has skin benefits. W

*Disclosure: I am a #BeautyUnited blogger. As part of my affiliation with this group I receive products and special access to P&G events. The opinions on this blog are my own*
 

4 thoughts on “On the fence…Alphabet Creams…”

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

