Textiles…yeah…what a fail :P

A few weeks back, I thought I would try out recreating a look. One that I saw on the CoverGirl Hunger Games website HERE.

Specifically…District 8 Textiles stood out to me.

Playing around...

Why?

Because the blue wool reminded me of a DKNY sweater I have lol

Playing around...

Not a good reason to want to try something out really…but I figured that it was a relatively easy look that I can recreate…except I didn’t have the products that they had, so I did what I could with what I did have…

Playing around...
Anyway, since there was a simple paragraph on what to do, I figured I would try it out.

(btw all those pictures are screencaps from the website)

Playing around...
I actually didn’t like the sweater wrapped around my head, so I stole Mama’s knit shawl for another picture…

Playing around...
Which only confirmed to me that I look better in darker colours :P

Originally I wanted to add cotton to my brows, and had glued my natural hairs down…but then didn’t know how I could have coloured them gold…so I gave up on that idea. However since I had already glued them down…I figured I would just go with it. That is why the brows look…interesting..to the say the least.

Playing around...
Now you basically can’t tell, but instead of applying the shadow to the mascara brush, what I ended up doing was applying mascara to the fake lashes that I had applied, and then carefully brushed them with the red pigment that I had. It did stand out a bit more, but with the red shadow on the lid, it was hard to tell.

In any case, here is what I used…

Playing around...

I forgot to include a picture of CoverGirl Flamed Out Shadow Pencil in 305 Crystal Flame*. I was looking for 310 (Red Hot Flame that they used)*, but could not find it. Turns out it fell in to the laundry area.
In any case, I used 305 as my base for the red shadow.

Playing around...
I used Annabelle TwistUp in Vamp* that I wrote about HERE, and mixed in a bit of CoverGirl Lipstick in Hot Passion #305*.

Playing around...
For the face I mixed in a bit of Marcelle’s Lux Dust* to Covergirl Whipped Creme Foundation* that I wrote about HERE. My intention was to make it lighter, and give off a more luminous look…that didn’t translate too well in the pictures, but it gives up this ghastly appearance. Almost as if I refused to meet the sunlight, because I preferred to stay hidden under the piles of wool at home. Yeah…sure lol. Then I buffed in Stila’s luminizer (long since discontinued. I bought a crapload then, and still working through one -__-)

Playing around...
For the eyes, I used the Flamed Out Shadow pencil in Crystal Flame as my base, then applied MAC Pigment (I don’t remember…dang…need to look that up). Then I used Jesse’s Girl Pigment in Sparkle Gold. I used the Pupa Gold Shadow for my brows.

I then appplied Liquiline Blast eyeliner in black, slapped on a pair of lashes, and coated it with mascara. As I mentioned above I lightly dusted some red shadow on to the fresh coat of mascara, to make it stick. And done.

Did I have fun?
Sure I did.
Was I satisfied?
Not really but…
Did I learn some stuff?
Yup! So really that’s all that matters! In any case, I may want to try out one more look…but we will see if I can swing it. In any case, this just showed me that I don’t necessarily need special fx makeup to do certain things. I mean, really, one just makes do. Especially when you are like me :P

*Disclosure: I am a #BeautyUnited blogger. As part of my affiliation with this group I receive products and special access to P&G events. The opinions on this blog are my own*
#CapitolCOVERGIRL

In addition, those marked with an asterisks were provided by the respective brand for review purposes

12 thoughts on “Textiles…yeah…what a fail :P

    • Thanks Kelly :D
      You were always posting such awesome Halloween inspiration posts for looks, that I was inspired to at least try. It wasn’t as intense as the fun things you did, but I’m proud that I at least tried :) So thank you for the support! Will try another soon :P

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

