Busan Adventures Day 2…picture heavy (Korean 2010)

See Day 1 HERE

Well this is Day 2 of my time in Busan. This is what I woke up to…

Korea - Busan 2010
Apparently a very famous river in Busan, which shows up in textbooks? I remember H’s Aunt saying something like that…in general, I was more impressed with the view. It was just…lovely. It actually looks prettier, but it is winter, and well the screen on the veranda got in the way of the picture.

Korea - Busan 2010
Right outside the Busan KTX Terminal. H and I spent some time sitting in that little shelter in the middle before boarding our train in the evening…

I wanted to get some stuff to snack on, and drink, so we stopped by 711. Or so I think it was 711, that’s what I seem to recall…

Korea - Busan 2010
Banana Milk. I don’t get the hype of this. I tried this the first day I explored after I landed in Korea. Wasn’t as cool as I thought it would be.

Korea - Busan 2010
Soju for roughly $1.50+. Yes I was tempted to buy it and drink…I mean $1.50! These bottles go for $7+ in Toronto at the LCBO, and for approx $15+ at Soju bars -____-

Korea - Busan 2010
Roughly 90+ cents.

Anyway, we got our stuff, and we boarded our bus.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Our first stop was at a national park. What was it called you ask? I have no freaking idea.

H fill me in if you remember.

Otherwise I might research this place later on, once I get some sleep from suffering through my exams.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
H posing as I take a shot. Watch your head :)

Korea - Busan 2010
The train we opted out of paying to ride…but looks super inviting…if you are a kid :P

Korea - Busan 2010
stairs -_____-

Korea - Busan 2010
Lovely…

Korea - Busan 2010
Waiting for the bus to come. On either side of the street, you could play games and win prizes. I didn’t spend money on that, but just saying you could~

Korea - Busan 2010
It was fascinating for me to check out the architecture of the buildings in the area. It was just…I don’t know how to describe it…but was super interesting to me. Like I loved how this was set up…

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
You have to have a Daiso :P

Korea - Busan 2010
Starbucks is expensive in Korea. I had it once. Refused to buy again cause it was nuts. Plus I said things without a Korean accent, and it threw the Barista’s off.

This was our second stop.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
That dome in the background is a great place to go for those who are fan of seafood. Basically you go to the main floor, select the stuff you want to eat, then go upstairs. There they prepare it for you, and you can enjoy a incredibly fresh meal of seafood.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
My mom was totally jealous when she saw this…she loves crab. Enough though recently, she cut her finger because of the sharp claws…it got SEVERELY infected (like it tripled her original finger width. it was bad :T), had to go to the doctor…who then sliced her finger to remove the clotting, then put her on a derivative of penicillin to work the insane infected. The doctor who took care of her was Chinese, so he totally understood that she loved crab. He says that he prepares them for his wife cause he doesn’t want his happening to her. She Aww’ed at that. I would have as well.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
This is inside that huge building.
Unfortunately I am not a huge fan of seafood…but even still, seeing all this made me wish I were!

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
If you walk through the centre to the other side, it leads you outdoors, and this is the view to the right of the building.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
Back inside the building, more people checking out the goodies they will soon be consuming…

 

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
One of the entrances to the underground shopping area

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Now the following pictures are what fascinated me the most while I was here.

This is an entire alley…with all this older women making street food (Kimbap and the like), for people.

I swear it was 2 blocks of this.

It was crazy. It really took the meaning of street food to another level. At least to me :P

Korea - Busan 2010
The seats were generally filled, I believe that the empty seats you saw were just vacated, if I remember correctly…which might not be the case

Korea - Busan 2010
Bags placed over the bowls so that they (bags) can be tossed and the bowl reused. Bad for the environment, but good in terms of getting around the no water issue.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
I mean just LOOK at how busy this section was! just NUTS!

Korea - Busan 2010
Kimchi in a bag~ When my mom went to Korea in 2000 (when my grandfather passed away), one of the things she brought back, and was very eager to use, was kimchi bags.

Korea - Busan 2010
People on the left were looking for seats…

Korea - Busan 2010

Street shopping was pretty fun. H and I actually picked up outfits for our dogs here. They were rather cheap, $5, and made of fleece. I got a yellow bunny suit for my dog. She hated it -___-

Korea - Busan 2010
Yes…I flew across the world to buy Tim Tams :P

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
No idea who that is…

Korea - Busan 2010
Underground shopping. Was quite small, but surprisingly a lot of people.

Korea - Busan 2010
We went to eat at the Donkatsu place that was on the second floor. This was the view from that window.

Korea - Busan 2010
Look Ma! We went to Busan and all we bought was Daiso! lol
Oh just to mention, the thing she is standing beside is the drop off and pick up location for the tour buses. They have their route on it, and approximate times.

Korea - Busan 2010
I wanted to take more pictures, and to enjoy the city. So I forced, yes FORCED H to sit on the open upper level with me. It was cold, and I’m pretty sure the poor thing caught a cold because of me. But we had so much fun.

Doing what you ask? My friend H and I sang Nanananana Batman! while laughing ourselves silly…good times…
If you don’t know what I am talking about…

Korea - Busan 2010
On the upper level waiting to get off

Korea - Busan 2010
The Bus stop was on the left, right after you got out of the terminal.

Korea - Busan 2010

Korea - Busan 2010
Looking down….
I think we went back in to check if we could get our tickets bumped up to an earlier time. But seeing as it was the holiday season, all the seats were BOOKED. Even the one where you had to stand in the train for the duration of your travel. So we figured we would wander around a bit more.

That is when we found our way to China Town.

Korea - Busan 2010
China Town!

Korea - Busan 2010
Back street for the China Town stores

Korea - Busan 2010
It was late, so only a handful of the stores were open in this section.

Korea - Busan 2010
Welcome to Busan!
Outside the building, there was this thing. It would change to different colours. Quite nice to look at actually

Korea - Busan 2010
One of the many exits

Korea - Busan 2010
The waxing effort that went into those floor. Wowza
The bathrooms were ridiculously clean, as was everything around the place. It was actually quite impressive to me.

Korea - Busan 2010
Everyone is waiting for their respective trains…

Korea - Busan 2010
We finally got on our train.
I would like to mention, see in the middle of the picture, there is the connecting doors, and you see people standing? That is the standing ticket that KTX offers. You literally stand the whole trip. Though you save some money, I would not be willing to do that for several hours -___-

Anyway that was our time in Busan. I took videos on my brothers Lumix GF1, and had no idea how to transfer them on to the computer. I thought they did it automatically! I found out much later, after I had erased the memory cards, that it wasn’t the case -___- was super sad when I realized that, as I lost the video of us singing the Batman song lol

Well…

Good times.

2 thoughts on “Busan Adventures Day 2…picture heavy (Korean 2010)

    • oh Nikki~ it was lovely^^
      when you do go back definitely have to try and go!
      I wish I went to Jejudo like you did tho~ That’s on my list for next time

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

