How I Try to “Beat the Heat”: Body Edition

I did a face edition HERE, but this is the follow up…the Body!

How to Beat the Heat: Body edition

Well the best way to beat it, is to avoid going out. But seeing as I cannot really declare that I will be hibernating the rest of the summer…I guess these are some ways I try to keep cool…

IMG_7322

1) Facial water mist, Evian or Avene
These guys are nice, especially when you are sweating up a storm. I liked using them while I was playing softball, as it just gave my face a bit of a refresher. Plus if you close your eyes and imagine real hard, you can place yourself on a boat on the ocean. The waves kicking a water mist into your face xD A can of Avene is approximately $20, but get them when they are on sale. They are also good to help soothe sun burns!

2) Baby Wipes
I used to buy a box of these from Walmart in September during their anniversary sale, but I found (through my practicum’s with the kiddies), that the Costco Kirkland brand was even better, (far softer and without the slight filmy feeling.) You can get a box for just over $20. I take a few with me in a ziplock back (as it would be a pain to carry a whole pack of these in my bag), and take it out to de-gross (lol yes…I am aware that this is not really a word…) my flipflop feet. You can also use them for other situations, but I use them for my feet more, and BeautyGeek sums is up perfectly HERE as the 6th tip.

3) Sunblock (small purple-ish container)
I decant a bit of the Shiseido (enough for like 2 days, as I don’t want it to get all messed up while I carry it around), into a container and tote it with me. You will always need to apply when you go out, so might as well. I don’t like carrying the whole huge tube, but this still reminds me to take it with me.

4) Hand fan (I couldn’t find mine for the photo. I think I left it in my friends car after the wedding >_ Cooling body lol I get them from Chinatown for about a buck.

5) Hair accessories
Bobby Pins and a hair elastic is a must to have with you. There will be times where you will be stuck on a super hot bus, or area, and it will be a blessing to have your hair off the nape of your neck. So toting them around will help. I just buy those cheap outless elastics from dollarama, got a box of bobby pins from BSO and put them in a tin in my MU Bag. Tada! Lately though, I have them in this pencil case with a teasing comb (I picked this up at Sally’s Beauty Supply), banana clip (sometimes I prefer this), with my Goody Screw Pins.
Some days I will tote the travel Batiste (I think this was like $6) with me as well. Depends on if I need to look decent for something. My hair gets way out of control when it is hot (dark hair = sun attracter), so I try to fix the damage with this.

6) Underarm guards (in the form of deodorant or antiperspirant)
Cannot stress how important this is. I go for the clinical ones, as I find that it does help me out a lot, but I do swipe on a layer of regular deo as well in the morning.

7) Hand Sanitizer
Hands just get frigging grimy in the heat, so I have my mini sanitizers from BBW (I got it from the outlet, I think 3/$1). Now when I use these, all I think about is my First Aid trainer saying that anything less than 90% alcohol is useless, but shush you! I need it! xD

Other things to note would be to carry about a hat with you. I saw this AWESOME cheap one from BeautyGeek HERE that is from Joe Fresh! $9 for a hat is a great price. Otherwise Winners did have ones that were the same, but foldable. Thus making it tote-able. You could carry around a light coloured umbrella. I do have my yellow one sometimes, but because I feel like everyone is staring at me (which they probably are…) I don’t use it too often. You can also keep your feet fresh by using inserts. I saw these at Dollarama, and I know that Mira@babybubblz uses the leather ones. Anything that helps to ventilate and draw sweat away, while keeping your feet smelling good, is a help in this weather as well.

IMG_7321

OOPS! I also forgot a big one.

STAY HYDRATED! Taking care of the outside is important, but taking care of the inside is VITAL! So drink up, and replenish the water loss from sweating :P

Some are a bit obvious, well almost all are on my list, but this is how I beat the heat. This is the best that I can do when I hate the humidity, and just don’t usually deal well with heat.

What do you do for your body to help you beat the heat?

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

