Deviating from my usual dry shampoo…

Edit: July 3, 2012, I used my second bottle and got 4 uses from it. I really don’t get it. Which is also surprising is the reviews of it on well.ca. I thought maybe I got a fluke. Otter but there are other reports. Seeing as I am not spraying everywhere, not sure what’s going on. But for the price point I would say stay away until something is looked into/corrected. Otherwise of its “supposed” to be like that, well what’s the point in spending that money on a few uses?

So since vacationing in Korea 2010, I have had a can of Batiste Dry Shampoo stocked under my sink. Being a total cheapie bit on the cheap side, I try not to use it regularly. (You can find my review HERE). It may be linked to the same reason, but I also like drying out other dry shampoos. However I feel as though we don’t have as many options in Canada (though I’m sure this isn’t that true).

Anyway, on a trip to NJ in April, I made sure that we stopped by a drugstore before coming home, just so I could pick up dry shampoo…

This was one of my purchases.

Dove Dry Shampoo

There was a BOGO sale at CVS for the Dove Dry Shampoo, so I got 2 for $6.67US.

I thought this was a score, as I enjoy using Dove products, and well its BOGO! We hardly see that in Canada xD

Unfortunately that feeling doesn’t translate to the product…which we will get to at the end.

Dove Dry Shampoo
Dove Dry Shampoo
Dove Dry Shampoo

Let us take a look at my oily head…(Pardon in advance…)

Dove Dry Shampoo
Dove Dry Shampoo
(Yeah…that is what I wake up to every morning T____T)

Dove Dry Shampoo
I spray the front bang-y area first, before spraying the rest of the crown.

Dove Dry Shampoo
This is what I can after dusting off my head.

Dove Dry Shampoo
It looks as if it did its job…

Dove Dry Shampoo
But the hair separates a little weirdly…

So some issues…
First, I dislike that it felt slightly hairspray-ish. There was this weird, slightly crunchy feeling to my hair after dusting it off and brushing it out. You can also see slightly white specks in the picture, which is not dandruff but residue from the product.

Second, it didn’t have the same absorbancy rate that I am spoiled with (in relation to Batiste).

Third, it just didn’t provide enough uses per can, as I got with the previously noted dry shampoo. I think for this one can of Dove, I got less than 6 uses, which is FAR less than what I would get from Batiste.

Lastly, its effect just didn’t last, which I assume is linked to the second point. I get, maybe 4 hours before my hair is a mess again. Was a nightmare when I went to a bridal shower. *shakes head*

So I guess as the saying goes, “don’t fix what ain’t broke.”
But as a blogger, I can’t help it!
I have one more can that I am using at the moment, and will have a review on that later. After that, I may have to revert back to my Batiste, and never stray from it again. We shall see.

If you use dry shampoo, what have you been loving?

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

