Backlog of Empties

Oh my…so…I have a bunch of stuff that I had in this bag since…spring? I kept telling myself I would do an empties post…and kept forgetting. The bag was hiding behind some stuff, so out of sight out of mind lol

In any case, this is some of the stuff I have kept since then. Others I tossed without remembering to store them. Then there are more that I need to sort through and toss because they need to be tossed.

Backlog of Empties

Avene Thermal Spring Water
I don’t know how many times I have repurchased this in the last few years (first wrote about it HERE). A staple for me. Helps to soothe my skin when its out of whack (allergic reactions, burns, prepping for mineral foundation…but usually allergic reactions -___-)

Green Beaver Blemish Foam
I used to really like this. It kind of is like the Burt’s Bees thing I have in the picture. But both have stopped working their magic on me.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel
This was the gel, and I mainly used it in the summer. Helped that it was light, but moisturizing enough to use on oily skin. I mainly bought this because I was nostalgic. My Grandmother used to put this (well the regular version) on my brother and my face during the winter. It’s been 10 years since she has left this world, but I miss her. If your Grandparents are still alive, do take the time to learn more of their history :) I wish I was old enough to have understood that. I didn’t get enough…

Marcelle New Age Anti-Wrinkle Firming Eye Lip Contour Cream*
This one was actually given in the Swag bag at the Marcelle event. I liked that this moisturized the area around the eye, without being oily, or irritating my eyelids.

Nivea Visage Pure and Natural Lotion
It sounded good, so I picked it up. I regretted it after a week. It didn’t suit my skin right, and I didn’t like the smell at all. I ended up using it for my neck and chest instead.

Burts Bees Anti-Blemish Targeted Spot Treatment
I first started using this through the BzzAgent program. But then ended up buying them a few more times afterwards. It would help to kill the bacteria of my newly popped pimples (I know I know…I shouldn’t pop them), but it helped for sure. In the end though, I needed more and more of it to work…as my skin developed a tolerance. So now it doesn’t work for me :(

Marcelle Essentials Purity Foaming Cleanser
I wasn’t a huge fan of this when I first started using it. Mainly because I like foam when I wash my face. However I found that it was still very gentle, yet cuts through the oil on my skin. Plus I kept finding it for an awesome price (like BOGO set from Winners). So I ended up buying a huge bottle at the Lisa’s Cosmetic Sale for $5 :)

Cover Fx Clean Fx Make Up Cleansing Mousse
I liked that this was a mousse. It is the first of its kind that I had used. I used it for days when I wasn’t wearing waterproof stuff, as it was harder to remove. Plus it worked great for arm swatches. I have a lot of cleansers to get through, but would consider picking this up again.

La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo Cleanser
I got this in a $5 kit, and though it was okay to use (loved that I could use it for both face and eyes. Hate ones that say no eyes -___-), it is a little pricey. I might consider buying it if there is a sale, but for now I have a lot of other alternatives within a range I like

Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant
I first got to use this from a kit I won from another blog. Then didn’t end up buying it again as it was pricey for my budget. Well…luck for me I got friends :D A friend of mine didn’t like hers, so she passed it along to me. I do like that it feels like it is working, yet doesn’t wreck havoc on my skin.

Backlog of Empties

Pulse Perfection
I hated this. Really Oscillation stuff didn’t work that well on me, mainly because their bristles were so spread apart. Luckily I didn’t pay much for it, I think $4 from the Loreal Warehouse Sale

Beneft Bad Gal Lash
I wanted to like this. I really did. But for some reason my lashes HATE Benefit mascara :( Luckily my cheeks love their blushes! This was a sample I got from Sephora

Marcelle Xtension Plus Mascara
I first started using this because of the launch party. Since then it has been my go to mascara. My only wish was that it was waterproof, but luckily they came out with a product to help with that (their Waterproofing Top Coat Mascara).

MAC Plush Lash
I got this in a charity bag from the MAC Warehouse Sale. I like that the brush is so packed with the bristles, but the brown mascara looked odd to me, and it didn’t really last very long. Could be that it was an old mascara to start off with, when I got it in my Charity Bag.

Annabelle Expandable Mascara*
I love this idea. I mean I would rather have the ability to adjust the wand, than have it set for me. Of course I didn’t realize it at the time. I was like…”Why would I need this? This doesn’t work for me”. But I ended up using it part way (not fully plus or fully negative part of the wand rotation), and it was just dense enough to coat my lashes, without clumping them together. Again waterproof is necessary for me, but their sister brand MArcelle has the Waterproofing Mascara Top Coat

Fairy Drops Volume Burst Waterpoof Mascara
This has been a HG product for me last summer. It would stay all day, despite how hot it would get. Because I have oily skin, I need the extra waterproofing quality, as it helps to prolong my mascara and not give me raccoon eyes. In any case, it would add volume, but not too much length. But I found that because it is a fibre mascara, I would brush just the tip and get a longer length that I wanted. The prob with this is that it dries out a little quicker, so I personally found that 3 months is the max. Which is good cause that’s the recommended time for mascara anyway.
Backlog of Empties

TISS Cleansing Oil by Shiseido
I first starting using this when I went to Korean in 2010. Then I got my friend to bring back another bottle for me from Taiwan. But that was the last one. I liked it, and will consider repurchasing in the future, but I just have a lot of cleansers that I need to get through at the moment. But this was one of the first few cleansing oils I started using :)

Degree Clear Clear
Deodorant is amusing. I remember going to Pharma Plus back when I was a kid to buy one with my Mom. I also persuaded her to buy me nailpolish in the same trip. Unfortunately she only would allow glitter polishes, not coloured ones. Well at present, I think that was a blessing…as I now adore glitter polishes :D

STIFF All Niter Gel
This was on clearance, and I needed something for this hair thing I was doing. Well the $1 price tag should have told me that there was a reason why it was being cleared out. Basically I won’t use anything other than Joico from now on. Brother has used that for about a decade, and has loved it since the first use. Got a pack from the Shiseido Sale, so that will be my go to, if I need a crazy do.

Stila Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer
This was actually sitting around in my stash…so old, so needed to be tossed. I remember thinking that it wasn’t too bad when I first starting using it years ago, but didn’t like the smell too much.

Korres Anti-aging Primer
This is a sample size from Sephora. This is actually the third tub I have gone through, but only kept the one. I wouldn’t say that it is awesome, but it is very light, so I use it just for the sake of using it.

Annabelle Gloss Crayon
This was another thing I needed to toss…but I have such an attachment to Annabelle and Marcelle things, its hard to toss. In any case, this was a really old product, part of their LE collection. Glad we now have the TwistUps as those are fab.

Batiste Dry Shampoo Travel Size
I saw a few of these on clearance, and couldn’t help but pick it up. These are really great. I got addicted to them when I went to Korea in 2010, as I was trying out the samples that I was sent. If I were to go on vacay now, I would stash the Travel Size in my bag again for sure

Aquafina balm
I like these. Been using them for awhile, I had a post HERE

CO Bigelow Ultra Mentha Lip
There are the OLD packaging. But I had bought a lot of them through eBay, so been getting through them slowly. This is my go to product for nighttime lip care. I slap this on at night, and wake up with nice smooth lips that are hydrated.

Annabelle Lip Stain Marker
I love stains so I picked this up when they were being cleared out (it was an LE item). I liked that it was more of a sheer stain, so it was unfortunate that it was an LE item.

Physicians Formula
I think this is when I gave up on buying anything from Physicians Formula. They had this luminizing compact a few years back that I simply adored. So I ended up picking up a blush and bronzer duo, and a face powder one. But none of them really worked for me. They were packed so tightly that I could hardly get any colour out of them. They have since worked on the formula, and created other products that people love, but I have a few other drugstore brands that I love that I don’t find it necessary to try them out again.

Loreal Balm in Plush
Warehouse Sales are deadly lol, but this is one of the 3 pots I ended up getting awhile back. I had actually stashed this away somewhere in another box, and didn’t realize I still had one left! I loved that they were in the glass container, as it kept it in really good condition, and no odd smells. So I used it to condition my lips at night. I wonder if there is an equivalent in their current line.

Backlog of Empties

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Blush
I bought these for $3 (or was it 5? Can’t remember), when they were being cleared out at one SDM location. Not a huge fan of the scent, but Batiste works for me, so I always have it stocked. Great for those days when you snooze your alarm, and wake up 10 minutes before you are supposed to leave home -___-

Montagne Jeunesse Black Raspberry Body Scrub*
I will have a post on this soon, but loved this during the summer. I mainly used it for my feet, despite having another product to use on feet. Helped to scrub away yucky skin, and leave my feet look pretty. Plus it smelt lovely as well!

Marcelle Eye Make Up Remover Pads
These were on sale for $4, and I figured I would try it out. Personally, I use a lot of waterproof make up, so this didn’t quite do the job for me, but worked decently when it was regular makeup. I did need on average three pads to clean my eyes though. One for each eye, and then a third for additional cleanup of eyeliner

Almay Lash Care*
I got this in my Focus Group Swag bag. But omg…I couldn’t get through this because of the really horrible smell it had. I’m not sure what made this stink so much, but damn…it was pretty bad IMO. I didn’t use it long enough to find out if it would do anything for the lashes. I ended up using it to wipe off swatches on my arm, then running to the sink to cleanse it off.

Blistop*
I got this from Farely & Co a long long time ago. But seeing as you didn’t need very much for it to be effective, this lasted me awhile. I don’t like wearing stockings, so this helped to create a barrier between my skin and the heels that I was wearing.

Clinique Moisture Surge
I picked up these mini’s from the MAC Warehouse Sale. I didn’t use the top part of them, because they had dried out or something. They were a much darker pink then the rest of the lotion. I didn’t realize that when I was at the sale, cause if I had, I probably wouldn’t have bought them. Anyway, I started using this to replace the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. Plus I would use it as a masque at night (just putting on a thicker layer, and letting it soak in before massaging it in)

Cover Fx Skin Prep Fx
This was super old, and was just sitting in my drawers. Cover Fx Primers used to be my go to primer. But the foundations that I know use don’t seem to play very well with it, as I get super oily, or find a lot more oxidation. Which is fine. I would go back to it eventually though.

Pantene Silky Moisture Whip*
I got this through one of the sample boxes that you get for free. It was either through SampleSource or through Walmart. Can’t remember. But I liked that it was this weird mousse that you got to apply to your hair. It was like a light lotion, that would help make your dry hair looks more healthy because of the added moisture. In any case, I got another regular size bottle through BeautyUnited, so currently still using that one.

Evian Mineral Spray
I like to use this to mix in with my mineral foundations, turning it in to a liquid foundation. It is relatively cheaper than the other water sprays that I use for the amount, so I didn’t feel as guilty using it for such a purpose.

*Some of the products featured in this post were free samples in the mail, while some were provided for reviewing purposes by PR. Those have been noted by “*”. Generally the greater number of them were purchased with my own funds for my own use*

4 thoughts on “Backlog of Empties

Please be respectful of other commenters when leaving a reply~ Thank you :)

